Porcelain Doll

By: Kaila Jenkins

“Okay Ava, I’m Dr.O’sano I know this might not be what you want to do right now, but I’m going to need to hear what happened.” He said with this blank look on his face. At this point I think I’m just tired of everything and everybody saying that they will help me. Everyone is full of crap if you ask me. It’s like no one in this world cares about Human Trafficked victims. They honestly look at us as criminals as the trafficker.

“ Why? It’s not like you care.” I uttered softly.

“If I didn’t trust me child, I wouldn’t be here”. At this point, I’m emotionally drained my mom always told me to stop keeping things in or else i’ll go crazy. I don’t  think this is the best place to do so.

I don’t know how dumb he thought I was. I knew exactly was it was. He came in my room silently, I would act like I was sleep so he could just leave me alone. Instead he pulled my covers off me, and got into the bed. You and I both know what happened after that. My life changed in a matter of minutes. He raped me and I was only 13(1).

He told me if I was to ever mentioned what he did to my mom, that he would beat me until I couldn’t feel anything. When he got up he pushed my face into the wall and said, “Man you weren’t even worth it.” and walked out. I don’t think I can even think about another time where I cried so hard. I picked up the phone and tried to think of someone to call and come get me. But as soon as I dialed the first 5 he snatched the phone out of my hand and hit me with it. He told me if I was to ever mentioned what he did to my mom, that he would beat me until I couldn’t feel anything. When he got up he pushed my face into the wall and said,

“Get off of me! Please! Help! Help! I need help!” I screamed so loud, Obviously not loud enough for anyone to care.

He repeatedly punched me until I bleed and the last thing I remember him saying to me was, “you shouldn’t have done that Ava”.  

I woke up in this really cold building on the floor scared out of my mind. I had no clue where I was but the last thing I wanted to do was scream because that’s what got me here in the first place. I started to hear laughing and talking. If I held my breath I could hear clearly.

“Well man how much do you want for her?” I heard a deep voice say. How much for who? Why am I here? I can remember praying to God that my mom’s boyfriend was playing a joke on me and we would go home. I heard someone coming so I stood up and smiled as the door opened. I saw this almost 7 foot tall man standing in the doorway. He smiled at me and mumbled,” Get back.” I saw him grab a lady by her hair and throw her in the room with me. “Both of yall get ready” he said as he slammed the door. “And Yvette I mean you better get real pretty.”

“Yeah, I heard you P.” she mumbled. She was the prettiest woman I’ve ever seen besides my mom. “Hey baby girl, what’s your name?” she asked.

“I’m Ava. But I have to go home”. She laughed so hard at me. I was confused.

“Yeah, um you’re not going anywhere for a while. I’m Yvette. I’ll keep an eye on you, you look real young.” she said. A man walked in he didn’t look familiar. He closed the door behind him. I backed up as he walked toward me. Now I knew exactly what was going on.

As he came towards me he grabbed me and threw me on the bed. I wanted to scream but I knew what happened the last time I made that decision. He grabbed me by my neck, and started to rub me in places my mom told me no one should touch me in. I freaked. “No, No, Please stop.” I can’t remember anything else that night.

On my 17th birthday. I counted the 436th man that I’ve slept with. That isn’t how I should’ve spent it. I’ve never felt so exhausted. Everything was in pain. Literally. My legs felt hollow I felt hollow and fragile like a porcelain doll. Every time I took a step I felt as if I was going to fall apart. I sat on the bed and Yvette came in. “Ava baby, are you okay?”. I nodded my head and walked out. P told me I needed to please at least 15 men a day and I was just at my last man.

The lights outside looked extra bright and extra colorful. I felt like I  was moving super slow. Next thing I know I was on the ground with about a dozen police officers and medics around me.

When I woke up I could do nothing but cry. I am so tired of being knocked out, and passed out. It has to stop. I have to get away from it all. All of the Sex, all of beatings. I need to leave it all. I want my mom. I want to go to school. I want a boyfriend. I want to be a regular teenager. I was lying in a hospital bed. With a bunch of cords hanging off and out of me. My first instinct was to freak out but that would take too much energy that I don’t have. When I looked up I saw two police officers come in. “Ava. Hello, I’m officer Smith. What you have been experiencing Human Trafficking. ‘P’ Is a’ trafficker. He has been doing this for a while. And you unfortunately you’ve been a victim of it.” I had no clue what to say or how to react. We learned about this in school when I was younger. There are 100,000 to 300,000 children trafficked in the U.S.. Of course that was the one that stuck to me, because now, I was one of those children.

“I want to go home!” I yelled.They have to take me home This is ridiculous.

“ Don’t scream. Just know you are safe now Ava you will be OK.”

It has now been 3 and a half months now. And things are not how I thought it would be. School Is terrible. I get called a hoe and slut every day because my story was on the news and in the news paper. I haven’t slept well Since I was 12. I wake up during the night screaming and swinging. My mom swore I needed therapy. So I’m here.

“Well I’m glad you are here Ava. I  am here for you. And so is the Human trafficking resource center”.

According to DoSomething.Org, “The average teen enters Human trafficking in the U.S. around the ages of 12-14. Most of them are runaways, who were sexually abused as children.” .

 

1)Ruth was 12 years old when she was raped by her mother’s boyfriend.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. soha says:

    That was super heavy… Definitely one of the most traumatic experiences a young woman could ever possibly suffer through

    Like

Leave a Reply

